Stages of Change

The stages of change is a key component to the Transtheoretical Model and is an approach used to evaluate an individual's readiness for change. It identifies several stages in the change process and can be applied to making any change in life.

Stages of Change

Precontemplation - Not yet acknowledging the problem exists

Contemplation - Acknowledging the problem, but not yet ready to address it

Preparation - Getting ready to change

Action - taking the necessary steps to make the change

Maintenance - successfully being able to avoid the temptation of returning to the problem behavior

A low shot of a person's feet on a white arrow on a road

We're here to help!

We’re a no-judgment zone, so feel free to come to us with any questions or concerns.